My Tribute to Beth Buege, Her Family and Friends

This was my rant site, the place where I vented about a lot of things that bothered me before I deleted most of those posts to focus on what is happening with indie authors committing fraud.  I once called this site my therapy place because I am a multiple violent crime survivor. I have survived multiple rapes as well as being abducted and held at gunpoint in an incident of random violence that nearly resulted in my death.

The men who tried kill me did not succeed. I survived.

But, Beth Buege did not.

In neither of our cases have the men who committed the violent crimes against us ever been brought to justice. There is no hope that the criminals who tried to kill me will ever be brought to justice – one of them was a cop.

But, I believe that there is still hope that Beth Buege will get justice, although her murder in Milwaukee, Wisconsin on June 3, 1990 is now a cold case.  I have read the articles and viewed the video tribute to Beth Buege below from YouTube and I have seen the determination of her family and friends to obtain justice for her – and for themselves.

You see, the family and close friends of Beth Buege are crime survivors, too. When their daughter’s life was brutally snuffed out in 1990, they crossed into that world of twilight that all of us who are violent crime survivors live in. Nothing ever looks the same afterward.

How I First Learned About the Murder of Beth  E. Buege

I would not know about Beth Buege except I happened to be at the right place at the right time to see her friends’ or family’s desperate attempts to bring attention to her case.

My understanding from this incident and from what I’ve read elsewhere is that the family of Beth Buege would like to bring more attention to the events surrounding her murder. More people talking about any case like this helps keep it alive in the minds of not only the public, but law enforcement.

To that I say: 10-4. Message received.

So, this is my tribute to Beth Buege.

It is a collection of articles and a video to inform you about the circumstances surrounding her unsolved murder. I hope that someone will see this who can help or who will feel moved to tell what they may know about the circumstances of her death, which will finally bring her killer to justice.

According to the articles and other information below, the Buege family is certain of the identity of her killer, but Beth was murdered in 1990 when DNA evidence had not yet developed to its present state of technology. Although, there are others who probably know something about the circumstances surrounding her murder, they are not talking. These seem to be the main reasons her killer has not been put behind bars for the rest of his life, which is better than he deserves. As it is, the suspected killer is still at large, apparently living quite a good life.

Information About Beth Buege Collected from the Web

Reward is Doubled by Parents Who Think Boyfriend is Suspect, The Milwaukee Sentinel, November 2, 1991: http://news.google.com/newspapers?nid=1368&dat=19911102&id=5kUbAAAAIBAJ&sjid=6U4EAAAAIBAJ&pg=3402,516255

Milwaukee slaying remains unsolved after 20 years,  Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, by Jesse Garza, June 3, 2013:  http://www.jsonline.com/news/crime/95479204.html

Unsolved Murder of Beth E. Buege, Unsolved Murders National Database, http://www.truecrimereport.com/coldcase/victim/unsolved-murder-of-beth-e-buege-28890875/

Beth is listed on this page along with many other beautiful, young women who have been murdered: http://csafd.proboards.com/thread/2437?page=37I’d like to point out the obvious, but something that is often forgotten when we talk about women who are murdered or raped: They’re not murdered or raped on their own. Somewhere is a brutal criminal who committed the crime and he is, more than likely, still at large.

(Update 3/22/2014: The following site lists suspicious deaths in Wisconsin. You’ll recognize Beth on the 7th row down, 3rd from the right. Hover your mouse over her photo for details:  http://php.wisinfo.com/mktg/unsolved_osh/ Also, see this page – http://www.thenorthwestern.com/section/WIS019804 –  for a number of videos discussing these cases, including a Cold Case Series, which you’ll find when you scroll down near the bottom. The video series discusses how cold cases are being handled and many of them solved, not only in Wisconsin, but elsewhere.  One theme is the importance of people talking about the cases and keeping on talking about them.)

(Update 3/25/2014: The following link goes to a memorial in Beth’s honor where you can send virtual flowers or a message:  http://www.findagrave.com/cgi-bin/fg.cgi?page=gr&GRid=53202188 )

If you are on Facebook, you can go to this page and learn about Beth Buege at her brand new page (Apparently Facebook took down the old page a couple of days ago), which is called Memories of Beth Buege: https://www.facebook.com/groups/748070505218006/

This is a video tribute to Beth Buege with some known information about the night of her death, information about the prime suspect and who to call if you have any information. This is a very moving and haunting video. I woke up with the song, “Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door,” going through my head this morning, I can’t get it out of my mind, which is what moved me to make this entire post :

If something happens to the above video, you may find it here: http://www.frequency.com/video/beth-buege/153062305/-/5-1429513

There is no peace without justice!

Justice is very important for all crime survivors, including the family and friends of murder victims, who are often not treated very well. Not only they are they cast aside by the system, but they are treated horribly by society as a whole.  They are left to pick up the pieces of their lives entirely on their own and sometimes they live in fear because of what they know. For instance, in this case a killer of women is still on the loose and since he has gotten away with his crime for so long, he may be feeling pretty confident about his chances of never getting in trouble for anything – ever.

Nobody can just move on from so great a violation as what this family – and many other survivors – have endured. They live with it every day. They go to sleep with it and they wake up with it. Their view of the world and the people in it has been completely altered forever. Their sense of safety and peace is completely shattered because they know a truth the rest of the world doesn’t seem to know or care about.

The only way to bring a modicum of peace to this family, for them to feel that the world is something like it ought to be, again, is for their daughter’s killer to be acknowledged for the murderer he is and be brought to justice. Justice and peace have been denied to this particular family for almost 24 years. But, there is hope. If you know anything about the circumstances of Beth Buege’s murder, please contact Detective Kathy Spano at 414-935-1212.

10 Responses to “My Tribute to Beth Buege, Her Family and Friends”

  1. bob regalia Says:

    Thank you for your post. My video has over 1600 views and ‘someone’ doesn’t like them. YouTube may delete the video, Vimeo deleted it shortly after a user by the name XXX (S.B.) created a profile liked it. I have created another on LiveLeak (http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=348_1395080241)

    I know Beth’s brother personally and have helped him any way I can.

    • Thanks for the update on the video, if something happens to it, again, I’ll look for it. There are a lot of places to stick a video besides YT. I apologize for editing your comment, but I’m sure you understand why I did.

      I’ll probably, also, delete the comment in a little while. I just wanted you to see that I acknowledged it.

      That’s a beautiful video, by the way, it really got into my head. I am glad that there are people who care about Beth, her brother and doing the right thing.

  2. Bruce Buege Says:

    I’m Bruce Buege, Beth’s brother. Whoever you are Witch Rants I have two things to say; “Wow” and “Thank you”. We are still hoping for justice for Beth and the only way to do it is to get her story out there. I would have to say by your post its working. Thanks to people like you our crusade is continuing to move forward and won’t stop until her killer is doing the time he needs to do. I appreciate this so much, you have my gratitude along with all her friends at “Memories of Beth Buege”.

    • Hi, Bruce,

      If my post helped you in any way, I am very happy about that and you are certainly very welcome. Your thanks and that of your friends means a lot to me.

      I feel I’m getting unwarranted praise here, though. I am just very touched by Beth’s story and by your effort to obtain justice. I hope this case gets re-opened and you get the peace you deserve.

  3. seymourgrouphome@yahoo.com Says:

    WOW this is awesome for you to do for Beth. God Bless You!

  4. I noticed you look at indie authors… Did you ever read any of Jesse Bromberg’s wifes books? She is author K. Bromberg…

  5. God Bless you for putting this out there.

  6. […] Please, look at the information available about Beth’s life and her murder at the post, My Tribute to Beth Buege, Her Family and Friends. If you know anything that could help police solve this case, please, contact Detective Kathy Spano […]

  7. Take Beth’s last ride from her boyfriend’s place to where she was found on N 49th Street…there is only one conclusion for me. He did this. He probably had help to get back home after dumping her off.

  8. Eileen Gleeson Says:

    I knew Beth at that time. She was a friend of mine. In fact, I talked to her on that Saturday June 2nd when she called from her job at the jewelry store. A different friend of mine had just applied there and Beth was calling me to tell me that. I think about her and pray that one day justice will be done. I know God will deal with the person who murdered Beth. God bless you all for continued efforts to bring justice for Beth.

Leave a comment